The conversation on this page has been archived and is no longer active.

Mountain Lion bugs: Chopped battery life and nonsensical 'Save As' behavior

Message #1 - Posted 2012/08/05 - Jim_Higgins

Mountain Lion bugs: Chopped battery life and nonsensical 'Save As' behavior http://tinyurl.com/9n3te3x

"The king of Israel answered, "Tell him: 'One who puts on his armor should not boast like one who takes it off." 1 Kings 20:11

Message #2 - Posted 2012/08/05 - Robert Peirce

Previously, Jim_Higgins wrote:

http://tinyurl.com/9n3te3x

I didn't realize Save As was meant to preserve an original so you could work on a copy. I usually used Save As in Safari when I was trying to save something.

The easy solution here is to do a Save As immediately after opening a file and before any edits. One could also duplicate the file and open the duplicate.

I've been working with computers for over 40 years and every release of every OS or program seems to change something you are used to. I finally gave up worrying about it and just figured out how to use the new version. Scrolling in Lion is a great example. When you're used to doing it one way doing it the opposite way takes a while.

Message #3 - Posted 2012/08/05 - nospam

Previously, Robert Peirce wrote:

I didn't realize Save As was meant to preserve an original so you could work on a copy.

save as has *always* preserved the original. it's now broken.

I usually used Save As in Safari when I was trying to save something.

safari doesn't have a save because you can't save back to the web site itself. anything you save will be a copy local on your hard drive. therefore, save as is the only thing it makes sense, and it works correctly, not affecting the original.

The easy solution here is to do a Save As immediately after opening a file and before any edits. One could also duplicate the file and open the duplicate.

that's not easy at all, and if you don't ever save as, you now have two files. this is basically the same problem as duplicate.

Message #4 - Posted 2012/08/06 - Robert Peirce

Previously, nospam wrote:

Previously, Robert Peirce wrote:

I didn't realize Save As was meant to preserve an original so you could work on a copy.

save as has *always* preserved the original. it's now broken.

Save As preserves the current version. I thought it always did that but I guess I was wrong wrong.

I think versions is what is screwing things up. However, the original can still be extracted with a bit of effort, effort I usually don't care to expend.

The easy solution here is to do a Save As immediately after opening a file and before any edits. One could also duplicate the file and open the duplicate.

that's not easy at all, and if you don't ever save as, you now have two files. this is basically the same problem as duplicate.

Okay. Maybe I've been using it wrong, but every once-in-a-while I want to save something and I get Save As as the only option with the current file name as default. It over-writes the existing file. What I want is a simple save but I don't always get that.

If I change the name I get two files. I used to use that as a kludgey form of versions, so I kind of like the new way for that.

Message #5 - Posted 2012/08/06 - nospam

Previously, Robert Peirce wrote:

I didn't realize Save As was meant to preserve an original so you could work on a copy.

save as has *always* preserved the original. it's now broken.

Save As preserves the current version.

not in the original file, it doesn't

I thought it always did that but
I guess I was wrong wrong.

it never did that. save as... has *always* saved a new copy, leaving the original in its last saved version.

I think versions is what is screwing things up. However, the original can still be extracted with a bit of effort, effort I usually don't care to expend.

that's exactly what's happening. auto-save saves the changes in the original, whether or not you do a save as..., and you have to backtrack it to the point before the changes were saved.

Message #6 - Posted 2012/08/06 - Warren Oates

Previously, Robert Peirce wrote:

Okay. Maybe I've been using it wrong, but every once-in-a-while I want to save something and I get Save As as the only option with the current file name as default.

That's because no changes have been made in the original since the last save (not all apps do that). When you "save as" the word "as" should give you a clue that you're supposed to change the filename. I've been using "save as" happily for years. Some apps have a "save a copy" which I think changes the filename for you.
--

... do not cover a warm kettle or your stock may sour. -- Julia Child

Message #7 - Posted 2012/08/06 - nospam

Previously, Warren Oates wrote:

Some apps have a "save a copy" which I think changes the filename for you.

the difference between save as... and save a copy... is that save as... saves to a new file and makes *it* the current file. the original is closed without saving changes to it.

save a copy... saves to a new file without closing the original. you're still working on the original. the copy is a snapshot at the point you made the copy and not opened until you explicitly open it.

Need Help? Have a Question?

Looking for more help, comments, and answers?

Ask your questions on Ask Different. Ask Different is a community of Apple users ready to help.